Special Session on Evolutionary Robotics

IEEE CEC, Cancun, Mexico, 20-23 June 2013

Special Session on Evolutionary Robotics, IEEE CEC 2013

Evolutionary Robotics (ER) aims to apply evolutionary computation techniques, inspired by Darwin’s principle of selective reproduction of the fittest, to automatically design the control and/or hardware of both real and simulated autonomous robots.
Having an intrinsic interdisciplinary character, ER is being employed towards the development of many fields of research, among which we can highlight neuroscience, cognitive science, evolutionary biology and robotics. Hence the objective of this special session is to assemble a set of high-quality original contributions that reflect and advance the state-of-the-art in the area of Evolutionary Robotics, with an emphasis on the cross-fertilization between ER and the aforementioned research areas, ranging from theoretical analysis to real-life applications.

Topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):

Session programme (New!)

Saturday, June 22, 10:00AM - 12:05PM, Room: Coral Garden 1, Chair: Patricia Vargas. Below is the program (upated June 06, 2013). Please check Official CEC 2013 Program for the official program in detail.
Time Paper ID Paper Title
10:00AM 1075 Humanoid learns to detect its own hands
10:25AM 1598 The dynamically extended mind: a minimal modeling case study
10:50AM 1090 Behavioral diversity with multiple behavioral distances
11:15AM 1515 Adaptive robotic gait control using coupled artificial signaling networks, Hopf oscillators, and inverse kinematics
11:40AM 1286 Evolution of an Amphibious Robot with Passive Joints
12:05PM 1319 Darwinian robotic swarms for exploration with minimal communication

New Evolutionary Robotics book! "The Horizons of Evolutionary Robotics" (MIT Press)

Programme Commitee

Patricia A. Vargas
Dario Floreano
Phil Husbands
Pradeep Ruben Fernando
Andrea Maesani
Renan Moioli
Inman Harvey
Stefano Nolfi
Ezequiel Di Paolo
Andrew Philippides
Gustavo Pessin
Josh Bongard
Larry Bull
Fernando J. Von Zuben
Fernando Almeida e Costa
Sabine Hauert
Angelo Cangelosi
Peter Duerr
Daniel Polani
Andrea Soltoggio
Jun Tani
Vito Trianni
Elio Tuci
Paul Vogt
Tom Ziemke
Martin Huelse
Nicolas Bredeche
Kasper Stoy
Marco Mirolli
Pierre-Yves Oudeyer
Frank Pasemann
Andres Perez-Uribe
Claudio Mattiussi
Trevis Maurice Alleyne
Pawel Lichocki
Thomas Schaffter
Steffen Wischmann

Past Special Sessions

General Chairs

Patricia A. Vargas Pradeep Fernando Dario Floreano Phil Husbands